top of page
AADCAP Logo.png


The purpose of the AADCAP is to provide a forum for discussion and exchange of ideas among the child and adolescent psychiatry division chiefs in medical schools in the United States and elsewhere for the purposes of:

  • Enhancing the growth and development of child and adolescent psychiatry as a discipline;

  • Strengthening graduate and postgraduate medical education, patient care and research in the area of child and adolescent psychiatry; and

  • Providing appropriate liaison between academic child and adolescent psychiatry as represented by the membership and administrative persons and organizations in medical education (e.g., departments of psychiatry, medical school deans, specialty boards), government, research, and health care delivery to forward our objectives.


AADCAP Executive Committee

The  Executive Committee is comprised of the President, President-Elect, Immediate Past President, Secretary-Treasurer, Program Chair, Membership Chair, and Diversity & Equity Chair. The President appoints the Membership Chair, Program Chair, and Diversity & Equity Chair and has the option to fill those positions. The Committee is the governing body of AADCAP and establishes its policies. The Executive Director carries our those policies and is responsible for the administration of AADCAP.

Officers & Staff
Benton Tami.jpg


Welcome to the American Association of Directors of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AADCAP). The goal of our organization is to support division chiefs/directors in and outside of the United States in their administrative efforts to coordinate and maintain clinical, educational, and research priorities. AADCAP accomplishes this by providing opportunities for continuing education in a collegial environment that encourages collaboration and professional growth. The organization works to enhance the development of child and adolescent psychiatry as a discipline and to address issues that are important for the future of our specialty. AADCAP also serves an advocacy role for child and adolescent psychiatry within schools of medicine, hospital administration, local and national governments, professional organizations, and research institutions. We encourage your participation and your membership.  

If you are interested in learning more about AADCAP, please contact Earl Magee ( or me.


Tami Benton, MD

AADCAP President

Children's Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP)
Philadelphia, PA

Axelson David 2.jpg

David Axelson, MD

AADCAP President-Elect

Nationwide Children's Hospital, The Ohio State University School of Medicine, and the Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center

Columbus, OH

Martini NEW.jpeg

D. Richard "Rich" Martini, MD

AADCAP Immediate Past President

Primary Children's Medical Center

Salt Lake City, UT

Benningfield Meg.jpg

Margaret "Meg" Benningfield, MD

AADCAP Secretary-Treasurer

Vanderbilt Univdrsity Medical Center

Nashville, TN


Sheila Marcus, MD

AADCAP Membership Chair

University of Michigan Medical School
Ann Arbor, MI

Dvir Yael.jpg

Yael Dvir, MD

AADCAP Program Chair

UMass Memorial health

Worster, MA 

Andy Pumariega.jpg

Andres "Andy" Pumariega, MD

AADCAP Diversity & Equity Chair 

University of Florida

Gainesville, FL 


Earl Magee

Earl Magee

Executive Director


AADCAP has six standing committees and a Diversity & Equity Committee.  The general committees' mission is to address the pressing issues facing child and adolescent psychiatry program directors. Specifically, these committees have the following objectives:

  • Facilitate a committee meeting to be held during the year and/or an AADCAP meeting to discuss committee issues;

  • Create a session for a meeting; and

  • Represent AADCAP on issues related to the committee.

Committee Members serve for two years with a maximum of three non-consecutive terms.


Committee               Chairs/Co-Chairs

Administration                   John Walkup, MD

Clinical Affairs                     James Waxmonsky, MD 

                                            Mike Sorter, MD

Research                           Jeremy Veenstra-VanderWeele, MD

                                            Peter Szatmari, MD 

Training and Education        Sandra Sexson, MD

                                            Felicity Adams, MD

Emeritus                            Gaye Carlson, MD

       Steve Cuffe, MD

                                             Bennett Leventhal, MD

Task Force               Chairs

Work Task Force                 D. Richard Martini, MD

AADCAP's seventh committee is the Nominating Committee.  There shall be a three-person Nominating Committee established that will determine a slate of at least two candidates for the positions of President-Elect and Secretary-Treasurer. The Chair of the Nominating Committee shall be a Past President other than the immediate Past President as chosen by the President of AADCAP during an odd-numbered year. The other members of the Nominating Committee can be chosen by the Chair of the Nominating Committee or the President and shall be represented by two other AADCAP members in good standing, one General Member and one Emeritus Member. Members of the Nominating Committee are not eligible for the slate of the upcoming election.

bottom of page